Welcome -  Mizoram India

The state is divided into * divisions and 8 districts, for administrative purposes.

Places to See
How to Go
Hotels Room
Airlines and Plane
Activities and Program
Photo Gallery
           The state of Mizoram in India is divided into * divisions as follows:

Districts of Mizoram

After the 1986 signing of the Historic Memorandum of Settlement between the Government of India and the Mizo National Front, Mizoram was granted Statehood on February 20, 1987 (as per the Statehood Act of 1986). Mizoram became the 23rd State of the Indian Union.

The capital of Mizoram is Aizawl. The Mizoram State Legislative Assembly has 40 seats. Mizoram is now represented at the Parliamenty by two MPs, one in the Lok Sabha and the other in the Rajya Sabha.

Mizoram has witnessed vast constitutional, political and administrative changes in recent years. The traditional chieftainship was abolished and the District and Regional Councils (created under the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution of India) gave a substantial measure of local control. Today the Lais, Maras, and the Chakmas have separate Autonomous District Councils. The Village Councils are the grassroots of democracy in Mizoram.

Mizoram is divided into 8 districts:


Home   infoofindia.com   Link Directory Resources